PEPS – Procédés 3D Et PolymèreS

To boost the cross-border potential of additive manufacturing processes

In order to boost YOU, company managers, engineers, technicians or R&D project managers into 3D technologies.

General information on the project

  • Starting : 01.01.2019 — Ending : 31.12.2022
  • Parteners : CRITT-MDTS (coordinator), IMT Lille-Douai, Armines, CERTECH
  • Funders : Feder, la région Wallonne, la région Grand-Est
  • Associated partners : FLAM3D, Materalia, Plastiwin

Launched in January 2019, this new Interreg V project

aims to promote the technical and economic development of companies in the cross-border area (France, Wallonia, Flanders).

This PEPS project runs for 4 years until December 2022 with a budget of €1,461,750, of which €730,875 comes from the FEDER (European Regional Development Fund). It is also co-financed by Wallonia and the Grand Est french region.

 

Presentation video of PEPS project

Observation :

Until a few years ago, additive manufacturing was called rapid prototyping.
Today, manufacturers directly want printed polymer parts made of good material with physico-chemical characteristics close to the final part and which can be functional
This trend comes from metal printers that allow printing metallic shades with good mechanical properties. Indeed, some printed metal parts today are produced in series and have been approved for aeronautics at GE for example or to be implanted in the human body (medical).
However, although historically all Additive Manufacturing technologies have applied to polymers, there is currently a lack on the market of technical polymers with functional properties, shaped by 3D printing, which could be mass produced.

Our objective :

Based on this observation, the cross-border PEPS project aims to boost research and innovation in the field of Additive Manufacturing of polymers and in particular of technical polymers through applied research with a view to developing innovative solutions on additive manufacturing processes for technical polymers and/or filled polymers.

Therefore, the PEPS consortium wishes to give impetus to the 3D printing processes widely used today in prototype manufacturing. However, based on the above observation, the transformed materials are mainly amorphous polymers, patented polymers or PLAs, there are few technical polymers and the transformed polymers have much lower characteristics than those of the injected polymers. We are therefore still a long way from the direct manufacture of products

Customized solutions with regard to industrial needs, with a creative approach to the realization of the potential of additive manufacturing processes for technical polymers, loaded or not, the charge being aimed either at providing mechanical reinforcement or functionality to a polymer matrix, or at generating metallic or ceramic parts after post-treatment stages (debinding and sintering).

Our innovative approach :

  • Extend the possibilities of additive manufacturing processes limited to prototyping to new industrial applications such as direct and technical manufacturing with optimized mechanical characteristics similar to serial polymer processing processes.
  • Increase the supply of materials that can be used in additive manufacturing processes while providing them with innovative functionalities.

Examples of functionalization that can be carried out :

  • Quantify mechanical properties according to the type of process FA
  • Generate and transform new thermostable polymers
  • Lighter structures
  • Incorporate metallic or ceramic fillers
  • Functionalize the material and therefore the part
  • Add reinforcements
  • Welding or assembling printed polymers
  • Changing the density of printed polymers
  • Etc…

Who are the pilots of the project ?

The actors of the PEPS project have the necessary skills (polymers, additive manufacturing processes, formulation, metallic and/or ceramic fillers, composite and controlled porosity materials) in terms of research and innovation in the above-mentioned themes and have decided to pool them to contribute to improving the competitiveness of companies in the cross-border area. The developments of the PEPS project will be driven by market needs in order to help the industrials of the eligible area to develop the full range of possibilities of 3D printing processes, depending on the products they manufacture or the markets they wish to reach.
Insert the presentations of the 3 partners with their skills and logos:
CERTECH: skills in formulations and polymers
Armines and IMT Lille Douai: Expertise in polymers and polymer processing including 3D printing
CRITT-MDTS: Skills in composite materials, injection technology for metallic and ceramic powders and in 3D printing without fusion and in characterization of metals and ceramics

Results :

The results of the project are intended to be widely shared with You, the industrial actors concerned, in particular through :

  • Drafting of a roadmap based on industrial feedback
  • Meetings with selected industrials
  • Seminars
  • Development of demonstrators
  • Feasibility studies

PEPS – Polymères Et ProcédéS

Pour booster le potentiel transfrontalier des procédés de fabrication additive

Pour VOUS propulser, vous chefs d’entreprises, ingenieurs BE, techniciens méthodes ou chefs de projet R&D dans les technologies 3D.

Informations générales du projet

  • Démarrage : 01.01.2019 — Fin : 31.12.2022
  • Partenaires : CRITT-MDTS (coordinateur), IMT Lille-Douai, Armines, CERTECH
  • Financeurs : Feder, la région Wallonne, la région Grand-Est
  • Partenaires associés : FLAM3D, Materalia, Plastiwin

Lancé en janvier 2019, ce nouveau projet Interreg V

a pour ambition de favoriser le développement technique et économique des entreprises de la zone transfrontalière (France, Wallonie, Flandres).

Ce projet PEPS coure sur 4 ans jusqu’en décembre 2022 avec un budget de 1 461 750 € dont 730 875 € proviennent du FEDER (Fonds européen de développement régional). Il est également cofinancé par la région Wallonne et la région Grand Est.

Vidéo de présentation PEPS

Constat

Il y a encore quelques années, la fabrication additive s’appelait prototypage rapide.

Aujourd’hui, les industriels veulent directement des pièces polymères imprimées en bonne matière avec des caractéristiques physico-chimiques proches de la pièce finale et qui puissent être fonctionnelles.

Cette tendance vient des imprimantes métal qui permettent d’imprimer des nuances métalliques avec des bonnes propriétés mécaniques. En effet, certaines pièces imprimées en métal aujourd’hui sont produites en série et ont obtenu les agréments pour l’aéronautique (chez General Electric par exemple) ou pour être implantées dans le corps humain (médical).

Or, bien qu’historiquement toutes les technologies d’Additive Manufacturing s’appliquent aux polymères, il manque aujourd’hui sur le marché, des polymères techniques ayant des propriétés fonctionnelles, qui pourraient être mis en forme par impression 3D pour la production de pièces en série.

Notre objectif

A partir de ce constat, le consortium PEPS a pour ambition de booster la recherche et l’innovation dans le domaine de la Fabrication Additive des polymères et notamment de polymères techniques par une recherche appliquée dans la perspective de développer des solutions innovantes sur les procédés de fabrication additive pour des polymères techniques et/ou des polymères chargés.

Par conséquent, le consortium souhaite donner de l’élan aux procédés d’impression 3D largement utilisés aujourd’hui dans la fabrication de prototype. Cependant fort du constat décrit précédemment, les matériaux transformés sont principalement des polymères amorphes, des polymères brevetés ou des PLA, il y a peu de polymères techniques et les polymères transformés ont des caractéristiques bien moindres que celles des polymères injectés. Nous sommes donc encore bien loin de la fabrication directe de produits

Des réponses personnalisées au regard des besoins industriels, avec une approche créative de la concrétisation du potentiel des procédés de fabrication additive de polymères techniques chargés ou non, la charge visant soit à apporter un renforcement mécanique ou une fonctionnalité à une matrice polymère, soit à générer des pièces métalliques ou céramiques après étapes de post-traitements (déliantage et frittage).

Notre approche innovante

  • Elargir les possibilités des procédés de fabrication additive cantonnés au prototypage pour les orienter vers de nouvelles applications industrielles comme la fabrication directe et technique avec des caractéristiques mécaniques optimisées proches des procédés de série de transformation des polymères.
  • Augmenter l’offre des matériaux utilisables dans les procédés de fabrication additive tout en leur conférant des fonctionnalisations innovantes.

Exemples de fonctionnalisation qui pourront être menés

  • Quantifier des propriétés mécaniques en fonction du type de procédé FA
  • Générer et transformer de nouveaux polymères thermostables
  • Alléger des structures
  • Incorporer des charges métalliques ou céramiques
  • Fonctionnaliser la matière et donc la pièce
  • Ajouter des renforts
  • Soudabilité ou assemblage des polymères imprimés
  • Modifier la densité des polymères imprimés
  • etc…

Le pilote du projet ?

Les acteurs du projet PEPS disposent des compétences (polymères, procédés de la fabrication additive, formulation, charges métalliques et/ou céramiques, matériaux composites et à porosité contrôlée) nécessaires en termes de recherche et d’innovation dans les thématiques précitées et ont décidé de les mutualiser pour contribuer à l’amélioration de la compétitivité des entreprises de la zone transfrontalière. Les développements du projet PEPS seront pilotés par les besoins du marché afin d’aider les industriels de la Zone Eligible à valoriser tout le champs des possibilités des procédés d’impression 3D, en fonction des produits qu’ils fabriquent ou qu’ils utilisent ou des marchés qu’ils souhaitent conquérir.

Certech: Compétence en formulations et polymères

Armines et IMT Lille Douai: Compétence en polymères et transformation des polymères dont l’impression 3D

CRITT-MDTS: Compétence en matériaux composites, technologie d’injection de poudres métalliques et céramiques et en impression 3D sans fusion et en caractérisation des métaux et des céramiques

Les résultats

Les résultats du projet ont vocation à être très largement partagés avec Vous les acteurs industriels concernés, notamment via :

  • La rédaction d’un roadmap réalisé à partir de retours industriels,
  • Des rencontres ciblées partenaires-industriels,
  • Des séminaires,
  • Des développements de démonstrateurs,
  • Des études de faisabilité.